Just do it

Wellllll, today’s weigh-in showed that I gained 0.4 pounds. I didn’t exercise at all, and drank wine every day except one. I quit tracking Weight Watchers points when I ran out of extras. I think I am the poster child for what NOT to do on a diet.

A friend said she lost 24 pounds on the 17-day diet, so I bought the book last weekend. It said you had to drink a cup of hot water with lemon as soon as you get up. Sounded sour, but I tried it and it was surprisingly good. Breakfast on day one was supposed to be egg whites, which I can’t stand. A girlfriend called at that moment of indecision and Jay and I met her and her sweetie for lunch at a great Vietnamese restaurant. We ordered fried ginger beef, fried rice, spring rolls, shrimp stir fry. Not really diet food, and certainly not on the 17-day diet menu plan.

The next day’s breakfast was supposed to be kefir. I grabbed a healthy Kashi granola bar instead (3 Weight Watchers points). I was an angel for breakfast every day (aforesaid granola bar and skim cappuccino). Lunch was shrimp wonton soup (5 points) most days or salad with chicken on it. However, I ate a brownie one day and last night we went out to an Italian restaurant that makes bread to die for. So I had 1 1/2 pieces with a spartan bit of butter instead of a slather (not too bad and worth it). However, the pizza appetizer we shared was over the top, followed by rich, creamy pasta. Whoops.

So even though I was quite well behaved for the most part, no exercise and going over the Weight Watchers points showed up on the scale.

Today is a new day. I spent 40 minutes on the elliptical trainer and had a salad for lunch. Almonds for a snack. How hard can this be? Or maybe a better question: why do I make this hard? Just do it, as those old Nike ads said. Just do it. Just do it.

Leave a comment